Narrow gauge (30") 0-4-0 Porter

Feedback, questions, updates on current projects, you name it!
thegrindre
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:13 pm
Location: Cotten fields of Mississippi, USA

Postby thegrindre » Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:02 pm

So far so good although I can't change out the driver anymore. That option isn't working. It does say Willie is in the cab but it defaults back to your new guy in the game. (Missing a if/then/else statement somewhere maybe?)
No more Willie?!?! I like the new guy, too, btw.

:D

EDIT: I don't usually drive in Cab Mode but I will say this, WOW! that was fun... :D A new experience at my end. :wink:

The water sure gets used up quickly. Sheesh... :? I gotta stick water tanks up all over my route, now. LOL
Rick
TRS 2004 Deluxe Edition v2.4 Build 2365
Creating in 3D Canvas Pro
Web site = http://allricksstuff.com/

nwhitney
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:33 pm
Location: Tioga, PA, USA

Postby nwhitney » Fri Mar 14, 2008 4:03 pm

That was one of the good things about MSTS. You not only had to watch your water, but also the Johnson bar to make sure you were still making steam. It's implied in TRS, but you don't get that direct readout. So do you like cab mode? To paraphrase philskene, (I think) "Only real men drive in cab mode"
Norm

Oops, almost forgot. Great job on makin' 'er cab mode, Curtis. Thank you.

bdaneal
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:04 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Postby bdaneal » Fri Mar 14, 2008 4:21 pm

I see one problem with the Porter. You put direct-drive 1 on the the main bogey. You should put it on an invisible bogey set to either the same size or half the size of the actual drivers.

And a thought: it'd be nice if you put working controls in the cab. Did I send you a zip with the parts from the V&T cab? If not, let me know and I'll email that to you.
Cheers,
Ben

thegrindre
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:13 pm
Location: Cotten fields of Mississippi, USA

Postby thegrindre » Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:33 pm

Is it my PC, my lack of knowledge, or do the 'adjustments' need to be more calibrated? I can't seem to get it to pull off smoothly. It jump starts on me and sometimes it just takes off like a rocket LOLOLOL
I've read the instructions on 'how to' but it refuses to pull away nicely. :?
Is anyone else having trouble???
(Personally, I need more refined calibration.)

Norm, I never really did get into cab mode driving even in MSTS. Runnin' this Porter on my route is rather fun, I might say, though.

COOOOOOL job, Curtis....... Very cool.

:D
Rick
TRS 2004 Deluxe Edition v2.4 Build 2365
Creating in 3D Canvas Pro
Web site = http://allricksstuff.com/

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1283
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Postby Pencil » Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:15 pm

Yes Ben, I do have the parts - thank you! I'll get them added to the porter one day. I'm taking baby steps - I wanted to troubleshoot the cab mode problems without compounding them with animated parts.
I'll play with dropping the water consumption; how's the fuel consumption?
As for the driver; I wonder if it would be possible to turn on/off the Auran driver through scripting?

thegrindre
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:13 pm
Location: Cotten fields of Mississippi, USA

Postby thegrindre » Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:58 pm

My 30 ng track is about 2 1/2 miles long. With all the things to do in between, switching, loading, unloading, run-arounding, etc. the wood is about half or so used up. (Might be too long. I think it should consume a bit faster, IMO.)

Personally, I have no problems with the 'new' guy as a permanent driver. What I would like to see is Peter's driver. This Porter run backwards as much as it does forward. I liked the option of turning him around.

:D
Rick
TRS 2004 Deluxe Edition v2.4 Build 2365
Creating in 3D Canvas Pro
Web site = http://allricksstuff.com/

thegrindre
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:13 pm
Location: Cotten fields of Mississippi, USA

Postby thegrindre » Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:41 pm

OK, guys, I can't beta under cab control. It's not touchy enough. It jerks and takes off. I have no creeping ability for loading and unloading of each car. I can't make it roll smoothly.

It might be my fault but I have to give up. Slow creeping speeds aren't working for me.

:D
Rick
TRS 2004 Deluxe Edition v2.4 Build 2365
Creating in 3D Canvas Pro
Web site = http://allricksstuff.com/

bdaneal
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:04 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Postby bdaneal » Sat Mar 15, 2008 3:07 pm

Try this:

Code: Select all

firebox-volume 325 firebox-to-boiler-heat-flow 0.01 firebox-efficiency 0.2 boiler-volume 3000 minimum-volume 2800 maximum-volume 2960 initial-boiler-temperature 389 water-injector-rate 1.9 westinghouse-volume 20 main-reservoir-volume 92 piston-volume-min 0.613 piston-volume-max 9.28 piston-area 0.0119 piston-angular-offsets 0.0174,1.5254,3.0333,4.5413 piston-to-atmosphere-flow 0.0004 boiler-to-piston-flow 0.0013 firebox-to-boiler-heat-flow-idle 0.003 burn-rate-idle 0.003 safety-valve-low-pressure 1205 safety-valve-low-flow 0.0035 safety-valve-high-pressure 1235 safety-valve-high-flow 0.2 max-fire-coal-mass 48 max-fire-temperature 1325 shovel-coal-mass 2.25 burn-rate 0.065 fuel-energy 25.5
Makes it a bit more economical, a bit slower, and a bit less powerful.

In theory, this is a Light Class B-S, code word Kirmes. The Porter catalog says that on the level, this should be good for 245 tons. That goes down to 75 tons on 1%, 40 tons on 2%, and 25 tons on 3%. Someone can check those weights if they want. (my standard freight car enginespec is modified with higher drag to make runs more challenging)

Also, if you don't have data on the amount of fuel and water, the catalog lists 150 gallons of water and 18 ft^3 of wood for the Kirmes. If you have accurate info on the specific engine, use that. The catalog data is from the 1920s version of the engine which had a bigger water tank.
Cheers,
Ben

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1283
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Postby Pencil » Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:25 pm

Thanks, Ben! I'll get that incorporated, and a new build up tonight. I don't have very much info on that locomotive - built May 1887; builders no 848, 23" drivers, 6x10 cylinder diameter / stroke, 6 tons weight.
Thanks again!
Curtis

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1283
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Postby Pencil » Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:42 pm

OK, so it took a little longer than I was expecting.....

Anyway, try this: http://www.carsoncarshops.com/files/porter_cab_test.cdp

Thanks, Ben!

For the water amount, I just measured the model's water tank, and calculated from that. I figured that would get me ballpark, anyway...

One thing that helps me move a little slower is the custom hud that includes the sliders for the main controls. That seems to give the best performance to me. It sure would be nice if there was a hud with that, and also the fuel / water remaining....

Ben, what's the issue with the direct drive tag?

Curtis

bdaneal
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:04 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Postby bdaneal » Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:10 am

The direct-drive tag makes the drivers spin at the wrong speed in cab mode. It uses a 2 meter driver size (I don't know why. USRA Heavy 4-6-2s use something around that size, but there isn't one in the game (yet :-)) The issue is present from 2.0 to 2.5, possibly TC also. It's supposed to be fixed in TC3.
Cheers,
Ben

thegrindre
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:13 pm
Location: Cotten fields of Mississippi, USA

Postby thegrindre » Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:23 pm

This is much much better. It's kinda fun, now running Cab Mode.
I'm the new guy at doing this and needed these 'touchy' controls to control it. LOL
I'd like it a bit more calibrated, personally. It may not be quite as prototypical but may be better for the game, IMO.

:D
Rick
TRS 2004 Deluxe Edition v2.4 Build 2365
Creating in 3D Canvas Pro
Web site = http://allricksstuff.com/

bdaneal
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:04 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Postby bdaneal » Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:06 pm

Calibrated, how? (be more specific and I might be able to help)
Cheers,
Ben

thegrindre
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:13 pm
Location: Cotten fields of Mississippi, USA

Postby thegrindre » Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:34 pm

Oh, gosh, now you're asking me a question I don't know how to answer. I never got into specs, so to speak, so I can only say to make it pull off even smoother at lower control settings/speeds. Make it 'creep' more smoothly. Sorry, not sure just how to reply.

There's a water bug, now. LOL The water keeps rejuvenating itself. I doesn't run out as it did before.

Hope this helped... :oops:

EDIT: Let me say this, this set up is 100% better then it was. I can honestly say that it runs much better and seems to work quite well. I can get used to using this engine as is with a little more experience at Cab Mode. :D
This is a great improvement over the previous set up.
Fantastic job, Ben and Curtis...

Thank you both,

P.S. I'm too damn picky sometimes... :roll:

:D
Rick
TRS 2004 Deluxe Edition v2.4 Build 2365
Creating in 3D Canvas Pro
Web site = http://allricksstuff.com/

bdaneal
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:04 am
Location: Florida, USA
Contact:

Postby bdaneal » Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:18 am

Which water rejuvinates? The water listed with a % on the HUD, or the water queue?

Two problems with creeping. First, without a cab the lowest throttle setting is 5%, higher than I'd like. Even with a cab, 5% is still the lowest you can use with the keyboard. However, you can manipulate the throttle in cab to get .2% throttle. If you haven't, you might want to try the Vulcan and its cab, just for some more practice. I think the acceleration might be a bit fast, but I'm not done with that enginespec (so if you have any suggestions on that one, I'm all ears). It would at least let you try opening the throttle slowly.
Cheers,
Ben


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron