A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Feedback, questions, updates on current projects, you name it!
Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Pencil » Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:29 am

I finally figured out the issue I was having with the 3-way stub switch, so I finished up the old model I had laying around. I also made a Y switch by removing the center track. They've been sent to the DLS, and should be available later today. These can be adjusted (track texture and lever position) in surveyor, just like the right and left hand versions.

I hope they are of some use to someone....

Image Image

NevadaNorthernFan
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 12:41 pm

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby NevadaNorthernFan » Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:13 pm

Wow Curtis!! Very nice work on them I'll try to incorperate them into my project. If we can work it out. On question could you make them with your TS2009 track? That is what I plan on using for my route.

Thanks
Cheers,
Nevada Northern Fan

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Pencil » Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:33 am

Yes, I'm working on a set for the '09 track. No ETA, though.....
switch.jpg
switch.jpg (56.44 KiB) Viewed 14930 times

NevadaNorthernFan
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 12:41 pm

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby NevadaNorthernFan » Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:16 pm

Cool Curtis. Great Work on them. I cannot wait for them.
Cheers,
Nevada Northern Fan

User avatar
TorenHynes
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 9:59 am
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia, Oyster Pond

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby TorenHynes » Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:37 am

I finally figured out the issue I was having with the 3-way stub switch, so I finished up the old model I had laying around. I also made a Y switch by removing the center track. They've been sent to the DLS, and should be available later today. These can be adjusted (track texture and lever position) in surveyor, just like the right and left hand versions.

I hope they are of some use to someone....

Image Image
Fine work sir, fine work indeed. I've never seen anything like that before, ever.
Toren Hynes
"Proudly Canadian"
Hurricane Season is on!

User avatar
Carson & ColoradoFan
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:06 pm

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Carson & ColoradoFan » Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:48 pm

Yes, I'm working on a set for the '09 track. No ETA, though.....
switch.jpg
Is there anymore updates to this splended turnout?
They look beautiful, and cannot wait to get my hands on them!
. . . the Railroad that "began
nowhar, ended nowhar, an' stopped
all night to think it over . . ."

Jim Butler
Tonopah, Nevada

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Pencil » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:31 pm

Alas, no updates :(

User avatar
Carson & ColoradoFan
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:06 pm

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Carson & ColoradoFan » Fri Jan 21, 2011 4:42 pm

Darn! I hope you won't abondoned the turnouts. They are really nice!
. . . the Railroad that "began
nowhar, ended nowhar, an' stopped
all night to think it over . . ."

Jim Butler
Tonopah, Nevada

togog
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby togog » Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:55 am

very nice switches. are they 36" ? or standard gauge :p

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Pencil » Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:09 pm

Standard gauge.

Dreadnought1
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 3:40 pm
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Dreadnought1 » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:22 pm

Curtis,
Very nice work there!

While we're talking switches, I have a prototype question so if I may...
What would the 'default' lay of a non-main line switch be on a line such as the V&T? Away from running tracks or simply set to the most common path?
I assume the latter would probably be used on some logging/mining lines but the former would provide better protection to main line traffic.

Thanks & Cheers,
Dreadnought1
"Damn the torpedoes....Ahead!....Full Speed!"
- Adm. David Farragut on 5th August 1864

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Pencil » Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:05 pm

Good question - I have no idea!! I'll poke around a bit and see if I can find out...

Curtis

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Pencil » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:43 pm

According to the 1886 rule book, if a conductor did not set the switch back to the mainline (and lock it), he would be discharged.

Solomani
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:06 am

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Solomani » Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:09 pm

Curtis,

Any luck figuring out what was/is wrong with the stub switches in TS12? I played around with them a bit and found that the wye would work but the three way and the left and right would derail. Messing around in the editor i managed to mess them up royally and now can't get them to show the mesh. but since the mesh was not there I could now see the invisible track lines and while the wye seemed complete the other three seemed to be missing some of the invisible rail. When I placed it i was able to get a train across. Useless though as I now can't see the mesh and therefore can't switch it.

Don't know if this helps any but there you go.

thanks for making these,
John

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Postby Pencil » Mon Oct 29, 2012 4:57 am

Hi John,

As far as I can tell, the attachment points are too close together on one end - later versions of Trainz appear to combine them and mess everything up. Because of the DLS lifecycle, I can't just upload fixed versions to the DLS w/o making them for TS2009 and later :-/. Hopefully before too long I can get the new versions released.

Curtis


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron