Page 1 of 2

A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:29 am
by Pencil
I finally figured out the issue I was having with the 3-way stub switch, so I finished up the old model I had laying around. I also made a Y switch by removing the center track. They've been sent to the DLS, and should be available later today. These can be adjusted (track texture and lever position) in surveyor, just like the right and left hand versions.

I hope they are of some use to someone....

Image Image

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 6:13 pm
by NevadaNorthernFan
Wow Curtis!! Very nice work on them I'll try to incorperate them into my project. If we can work it out. On question could you make them with your TS2009 track? That is what I plan on using for my route.

Thanks

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:33 am
by Pencil
Yes, I'm working on a set for the '09 track. No ETA, though.....
switch.jpg
switch.jpg (56.44 KiB) Viewed 20154 times

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:16 pm
by NevadaNorthernFan
Cool Curtis. Great Work on them. I cannot wait for them.

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:37 am
by TorenHynes
I finally figured out the issue I was having with the 3-way stub switch, so I finished up the old model I had laying around. I also made a Y switch by removing the center track. They've been sent to the DLS, and should be available later today. These can be adjusted (track texture and lever position) in surveyor, just like the right and left hand versions.

I hope they are of some use to someone....

Image Image
Fine work sir, fine work indeed. I've never seen anything like that before, ever.

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:48 pm
by Carson & ColoradoFan
Yes, I'm working on a set for the '09 track. No ETA, though.....
switch.jpg
Is there anymore updates to this splended turnout?
They look beautiful, and cannot wait to get my hands on them!

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:31 pm
by Pencil
Alas, no updates :(

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 4:42 pm
by Carson & ColoradoFan
Darn! I hope you won't abondoned the turnouts. They are really nice!

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:55 am
by togog
very nice switches. are they 36" ? or standard gauge :p

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:09 pm
by Pencil
Standard gauge.

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:22 pm
by Dreadnought1
Curtis,
Very nice work there!

While we're talking switches, I have a prototype question so if I may...
What would the 'default' lay of a non-main line switch be on a line such as the V&T? Away from running tracks or simply set to the most common path?
I assume the latter would probably be used on some logging/mining lines but the former would provide better protection to main line traffic.

Thanks & Cheers,
Dreadnought1

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:05 pm
by Pencil
Good question - I have no idea!! I'll poke around a bit and see if I can find out...

Curtis

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:43 pm
by Pencil
According to the 1886 rule book, if a conductor did not set the switch back to the mainline (and lock it), he would be discharged.

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:09 pm
by Solomani
Curtis,

Any luck figuring out what was/is wrong with the stub switches in TS12? I played around with them a bit and found that the wye would work but the three way and the left and right would derail. Messing around in the editor i managed to mess them up royally and now can't get them to show the mesh. but since the mesh was not there I could now see the invisible track lines and while the wye seemed complete the other three seemed to be missing some of the invisible rail. When I placed it i was able to get a train across. Useless though as I now can't see the mesh and therefore can't switch it.

Don't know if this helps any but there you go.

thanks for making these,
John

Re: A couple new stub switches (TS2006+)

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 4:57 am
by Pencil
Hi John,

As far as I can tell, the attachment points are too close together on one end - later versions of Trainz appear to combine them and mess everything up. Because of the DLS lifecycle, I can't just upload fixed versions to the DLS w/o making them for TS2009 and later :-/. Hopefully before too long I can get the new versions released.

Curtis