A Problem with Ships

Feedback, questions, updates on current projects, you name it!
Trainboi
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:16 am

A Problem with Ships

Postby Trainboi » Sun Feb 01, 2015 7:02 pm

I have recently encountered a problem with Curtis's Drivable Steam Schooner 1. The issue is simply that it does not appear in game. The shadow, coronas, and cargo all appear, but the main mesh does not. If anyone can identify and fix this problem, I would be much obliged.

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Pencil » Sun Feb 01, 2015 10:45 pm

Interesting - I just tried it in TS12 SP1 (build 61338); direct X mode, and both it and #2 worked OK (until I sank them 'accidentally'). They need operating props and rudders, though (and a script to turn off the smoke and lights when they sink.....)
My gfx card is a Nvidia GTX 770; driver 347.25

What's your configuration? And does schooner #2 also not work?

Curtis
sank.jpg
sank.jpg (87.76 KiB) Viewed 10676 times

Trainboi
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:16 am

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Trainboi » Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:31 am

I've got a NVidia GeForce 8600 GTS, currently in OpenGL mode(going to try Directx presently, just as soon as I remove an ENB I was messing with because it actually crashes my game when I try to load the C&L or WP&Y routes. :oops: Reason number a thousand and one why I'm currently saving up for a better computer.
I'll download Schooner #2 to try it.

Trainboi
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:16 am

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Trainboi » Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:47 am

Huh, I guess your ships don't like OpenGL. I wonder why that is...
Anyway, thanks!

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Pencil » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:05 am

That's a good question - I'll do some poking around and see what I can find......

Thanks for letting me know!
Curtis

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Pencil » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:14 am

I haven't been able to reproduce this issue using OpenGL on any of my systems; either with ATI cards or NVidia. Odd....
Let me see if I can re-export the model using Blender and the new exporters, and see if that makes any difference....

Curtis

Trainboi
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:16 am

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Trainboi » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:16 pm

Heh. I'm not sure what caused it myself, although I haven't tried setting Trainz back into OpenGL after the ship originally stopped working. I'm sure there's some reason, just no ideas why it would be.

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Pencil » Wed May 13, 2015 10:52 pm

I've now re-exported one of the ships from Blender (and added normal maps, and optimized textures, and general cleanup, and fixed the TANE error, and....), if you want to see if it works in OpenGL on your system? It's Trainz-build 3.7, I think, but should be able to be backdated to 3.0.
I suspect I'll rev it to 4.whatever (TANE) before I put it on the DLS, as then I can add / adjust the suspension properties to better simulate 'floating' using the new rough track parameters - but I'm open to arguments either way.
http://www.carsoncarshops.com/files/Ste ... r_test.cdp
TANE_Schooner.jpg
TANE_Schooner.jpg (60.17 KiB) Viewed 10211 times

Trainboi
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 9:16 am

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Trainboi » Wed May 13, 2015 10:57 pm

I'll look at it; I'm running SP1 so 3.7 isn't a problem. 4.0 is, so I'll pick up the beta rather than go for the finished asset.

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Pencil » Thu May 14, 2015 10:42 pm

Maybe I'll keep them at 3.7 for now anyway, then. If I get around to playing with the TANE-specific stuff, I'll do another release at that time.

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Pencil » Sat May 16, 2015 1:47 pm

One more version - when reviewing the plans, I noticed some things were missing / not quite right, so I made a couple more changes.

Same link as before; http://www.carsoncarshops.com/files/Ste ... r_test.cdp
I'll convert the other versions over, and if no issues, put them on the DLS.

Curtis

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Pencil » Mon May 18, 2015 9:23 pm

OK, last update, I swear! The file now has both ships, as well as static versions. If no issues, I'll put them on the DLS later this week at build 3.7.

Curtis

Pencil
Site Admin
Posts: 1284
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 10:28 am
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: A Problem with Ships

Postby Pencil » Sun May 24, 2015 9:37 am

Updated schooners are now on the DLS; with any luck, they fix the OLG issue on some systems :)


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron